Browse the section
Original document dated January 20, 1860, handwritten by Vittorio Emanuele II, with which Camillo Cavour was appointed President of the Council of Ministers and Secretary of State.


Santena’s Cavour Center includes three extensive family archives and eight smaller archival collections.

The great archives:

  1. Cavour: subdivided into an older part (covering from the 12th to the 18th century and consisting of 100 folders and unconditioned materials extending for 15 linear meters, including an estimated 3000 documents), and a more modern part (covering from the mid 18th to the 19th century and consisting of approximately 15,000 documents – once stored inside 118 archive boxes of different sizes -, extending for 34 linear meters in 230 folders/boxes). Within this modern part we find the Camillo Cavour collection (covering the period between 1812-1894 and consisting of approximately 207 boxes/books extending for 20 linear meters);
  2. Carron di San Tommaso: covering 1362-1853 and consisting of 175 folders extending for 20 linear meters;
  3. Visconti Venosta: covering 1786-1942, and consisting of 6 archive boxes of different sizes (19th century material), three wardrobes containing materials covering the period between the late 19th and the mid-20th century, and unconditioned materials (documents regarding members of the Visconti Venosta family, extending for approximately 21 linear meters). The Emilio Visconti Venosta collection: covering 1830-1947 and consisting of 89 boxes/books extending for approximately 26 linear meters.

Archival collections

The other archival collections preserved in the archive of Fondazione Camillo Cavour are:

  • Lascaris di Ventimiglia: covering from the mid-14th to the 19th century, including copies of documents dating back to the 12th century, and consisting of 102 between folders and boxes extending for approximately 10 linear meters, and containing an estimated 2,500-3,000 documents.

  • Alfieri di Sostegno: covering 1486-1916 and consisting of 13 archive boxes of different sizes containing approximately 7,500 documents, extending for 5 linear meters.

  • Clermont Tonnerre

  • D’Auzers

  • Moffa di Lisio

  • Giuseppe Massari

  • Giovanni Morelli

  • Giovanni Visconti Venosta.

Inventories of the Camillo Cavour, Emilio Visconti Venosta and Carron di San Tommaso archives have been published.

There also is a photographic archive: covering the 19th and 20th centuries, consisting in over 750 photographic documents extending for approximately 3 linear meters.

An original document dated 20 January 1860, signed by Vittorio Emanuele II, appointing Camillo Cavour as president of the Council of Ministers and secretary of State.